

# CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE (CHL) INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANT

APPOINTMENTS ARE REQUIRED to submit CHL applications. To schedule an appointment, call 541-766-6606.

Law Enforcement Building, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, 180 NW 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Corvallis

#### **ORIGINAL LICENSE:** Bring the following items...

- 1. APPLICATION FORM. Must be completely filled out, legible, and signed.
- 2. SIGNED REQUIRED REFERENCES FORM. Obtain two character references. Have them complete and sign the "Concealed Handgun License Required References" form.
- 3. COPY OF DOCUMENT SHOWING PROOF OF COMPETENCE. See page 2 for a list of ways to demonstrate competence with a handgun.
- 4. PROOF OF BENTON COUNTY RESIDENCY. Oregon Driver's License, or document showing you currently lease or own property in Benton County, or other document as described in ORS 166.291(9).
- 5. PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP. Birth certificate, passport, or appropriate INS (Immigration and Naturalization Service) forms.

Uncommon Situation: If the documents you bring in to show proof of residence and proof of citizenship (#4 and #5 above) do not include your photo, you must also bring in an additional photo identification.

#### **RENEWAL LICENSE:** Bring the following items...

- 1 APPLICATION FORM. Must be completely filled out, legible, and signed.
- 2. CURRENT CHL. The Benton County CHL you are renewing.
- PROOF OF BENTON COUNTY RESIDENCY. Oregon Driver's License, or document showing you currently lease or own property in Benton County, or other document as described in ORS 166.291(9).

NOTE: If you are renewing an EXPIRED license, you will <u>also</u> need to bring your expired Benton County Concealed Handgun License and Proof of Citizenship.

### **REPLACEMENT or TRANSFER LICENSE:**

A replacement license is needed if you have changed your name or address or if your CHL is lost or stolen. If you have a CHL in another Oregon county and have moved to Benton County, you will need to transfer your license. Here's what you'll need to bring to your appointment in each of these situations...

#### If you are **changing your name or address**, bring the following:

- 1 APPLICATION FORM. Must be completely filled out, legible, and signed.
- 2. CURRENT CHL. The Benton County CHL you are updating.
- 3. PROOF OF CHANGE. Document, such as your Oregon Driver's License, that shows your new name or address.

continued on page 2...

#### **REPLACEMENT or TRANSFER LICENSE, continued**

If your **CHL is lost or stolen**, bring the following:

- 1 APPLICATION FORM. Must be completely filled out, legible, and signed.
- 2. PHOTO ID. Official identification with your picture, such as an Oregon Driver's License.

If you are **transferring** your CHL from another Oregon county, you will need to bring:

- 1 APPLICATION FORM. Must be completely filled out, legible, and signed.
- 2. CURRENT CHL. Your current CHL that you are transferring to Benton County.
- PROOF OF BENTON COUNTY RESIDENCY. Oregon Driver's License, or document showing you currently lease or own property in Benton County. or other document as described in ORS 166.291(9).
- 4. PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP. Birth certificate, passport, or appropriate INS (Immigration and Naturalization Service) forms.

NOTE: Getting a replacement CHL or transferring your CHL does not change your expiration date.

#### FEES & PAYMENT OPTIONS

Fees for Concealed Handgun Licenses are listed below.

Original License:	\$115.00
Renewal License, only:	\$75.00
Transfer License, only:	\$30.00
Renewal and Transfer License (at the same time):	\$90.00
Replacement License (Address Change or Lost/Stolen Licenses):	\$15.00

We accept checks, money orders, and debit/credit. Please make these payable to "Benton County Sheriff's Office." We also accept cash, but you must bring the exact change.

### **PROOF OF COMPETENCE WITH A HANDGUN [ORS 166.291]**

You must be able to demonstrate competence with a handgun by any of the methods provided by law as follows:

- A. Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- B. Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- C. Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- D. Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
- E. Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
- F. Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
- G. Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association if handgun safety was a component of the course.

A number of local businesses offer firearms safety courses that meet this requirement and can be found through an internet search. Additionally, the Oregon State Sheriff's Association (OSSA) has created an online class that meets this requirement and can be found at <a href="http://oregonchl.org/">http://oregonchl.org/</a>.

## **Benton County Sheriff's Office**

180 NW 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Corvallis, OR 97330 541.766.6858 www.co.benton.or.us/sheriff



State Accredited since 2009

# **APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUN**

Original License	\$115.00			
License Renewal, Only	\$75.00			
License Transfer, Only	\$30.00			
License Renewal and Transfer	\$90.00			
Change of Address, Lost or Stolen	\$15.00			
Full Legal Name: LAST	Firs	т	MIDDLE	
Other Names Used: LAST	Firs	т	MIDDLE	
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY				
I hereby declare as follows: (Check each box that	t applies)		[ORS 166.291]	
I am a citizen of the United States. If I residence in Benton County for at leas Naturalization Service my intention to application.	st six months and hav	e declared in writing to the	Immigration and	
I am at least 21 years of age.				
I have <b>NEVER</b> been convicted of a fel	lony.			
I have <b>NOT</b> , within the last four years,	, been convicted of a	misdemeanor.		
<ul> <li>I have not been under the jurisdiction</li> <li>involving violence, as defined in ORS</li> <li>misdemeanor.</li> </ul>				
There are no outstanding warrants for	r my arrest, and I am	not free on any form of pret	rial release.	
I do not have any charges pending in	any court resulting fro	om an arrest or citation.		
I am not subject to a citation or court of	order restraining me f	rom contacting or stalking a	another.	
I have not been convicted of a control program, with the exception of the cor				
I have not received a dishonorable dis	scharge from the Arm	ed Forces of the United Sta	ates.	
I am not required to register as a sex	offender in any state.			
I have not been committed to the Ore	gon Health Authority	under ORS 426.130.		
I have not been found mentally ill and from purchasing or possessing a firea			426.130 prohibiting me	
If any item above has <b>NOT</b> been checked, in ord petition for relief under ORS 166.273, ORS 166.				
Age: Birthdate:	Birthplace: STATE/OT			
Social Security Number: of the number is authorized under ORS 166.420. It will			urity number is voluntary. Solicitation	
Height:ftin. Weight:	Hair Color:	Eye Color:	Sex:	
Current Address: STREET				
Спту			)	
Mailing address (if different):				

#### APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUN (CHL), page 2

List residence addresses for the past three years if different from present address:

Street	City	State	Zip
Street	_City	State	Zip
Street	City	State	_Zip

List all states in which you have resided as an adult (18 years and older):

I have read the entire text of this application, and the statements therein are true and correct. Making false statements on this application is a misdemeanor.

I understand that I will be photographed and/or fingerprinted.

Signature of Applicant:

Date:

## SPACE BELOW FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

Proof of Identification: Two pieces of ID are required, one of which must bear the photograph of the applicant. Number Type Number Type Proof of Citizenship: Birth Certificate Passport Other: Approved Course **Competence with Handgun Documentation** Military Service Concealed Handgun License LICENSE APPROVED LICENSE DENIED BY: \_\_\_\_\_ Date Issued Fee Paid License # **Expiration Date** 

## Benton County Sheriff's Office

180 NW 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Corvallis, OR 97330 541.766.6858 www.co.benton.or.us/sheriff



State Accredited since 2009

## concealed handgun license REQUIRED REFERENCES

(This reference sheet must be turned in with your application)

Original License	Two character references are required. Please have your references sign the statements and print their names and addresses in the indicated spaces below.
Renewal License	Not required.

Applicant Name:\_

I agree to be a character reference for the above individual and know of no reable issued.	ason why this license should not
Signature:	Date:
Print name and address:	
Leaves to be a abarattar reference for the above individual and know of pare	soon why this license should not
I agree to be a character reference for the above individual and know of no reable issued.	ason why this license should not
	ason why this license should not Date:
be issued.	
be issued. Signature:	
be issued. Signature:	

DUTY HONOR + COURAGE